top of page

OAKLAND FASHION WEEK 2018-EMERGING DESIGNERS

Monday, May 14, 018 throughout to Sunday, May 19, 32018, was Oakland Fashion Week. The main theme for the week was "Millennium Fashion Runway Show". According to the runway model/the face of Oakland Fashion Week 2018, Gabrielle Jermaine, ‘the couture designers will focus on the future of the fashion’, hence, it’s the meaning behind the main fashion theme.

photographer: La'Keela Smith

I was excited to receive an invitation to attend the Wednesday show, an Emerging Designers show on May 16, 2018. The show was located at West Oakland Youth Center, 3233 Market Street. I missed the show last year due to work overloads and I was exhausted. I felt regret after viewing the Instagram live stories. I promised myself no matter what would happen, I would make it this time. Thus, I had a beautiful dress in mind. Another solid reason to not miss the date!

The show was supposed to start from 7pm-10pm. However, it was delayed 40 minutes later than planned. I arrived at the premise around 7 pm. The music was popping. Front row seats were mainly empty. As my eyes caught hand waves from Miquan and Tamika, my stylish classmates, I shifted myself across the hall to get to them. I found something interesting as I looked at their outfits. We used elegant black as the main color theme then accessorized with other shades of color to balance the looks, green, gold, red and of course, a flawless face makeup. Initially, my idea for the look that night was to make gold as a main color theme. However, looking at my photo album, I realized that I mainly wore gold and featured gold in all of my looks. I decided to switch it up a little since I bought a glitter faux diamond clutch the other night. The dress was still the same. A long black maxi dress, hand embroidered flowers in gold threads, an open back and a deep plunging neckline with 4 attached strings over the shoulders. A hoop earring with ivory pearl on one ear and the other ear was a simple ivory pearl earring, which was given to my mother from her mother. I completed the look with a glitter silver faux fur sandal heels from Aldo and the above clutch from Street Level.

The first collection was from Jr. Esmeralda. She wanted to showcase a wide range of looks that could possibly fit women in different sizes. The collection was fun, sexy in a sassy tone and the catchy music did complement the collection in many ways. The designer put out a variety of looks (casual, evening wear); accessories (purses, sandals, heels, hipster necklaces). The main color of this collection was red with floral patterns. The materials seemed to make from cotton and polyester. The designer did a good job of embracing the women curves, which also drew attention to the models' walks. However, I found that the collection was quite ambitious. There were many pieces and some of them didn't carry the collection theme. She mentioned from the beginning that she wanted to bring her collection to many women in different shapes and sizes. Yet, it was hard to see that message during the show. Perhaps, the fact that there were no plus-size models walking her collection. Majority of them was on a skinny side, and quite petite.

The second collection was a group of four young ladies. Christina Holmer was the representative for the brand, she shared the group goal behind creating this collection, "to support and show love to women that have birth defected. They are beautiful just as everyone else. They have the right and the need to look beautiful every day." I thought it was very touching meaningful. The first runway model was Chelsea, wearing a red lace midi dress; she walked with confidence and the brightest smile. Many clapped their hands to show encouragement. The collection had soothing colors: pastel, white, light pink and berry, plum. There was a couple of black midi dress as well. The design patterns were laces, floral prints, and extremely feminine. The style is perfect for a special occasion or evening wear. I also love the soulful music that accompanied this collection throughout the showcase.

Next stop, one of my favorite collections of the night, Woakey. The collection was special because it combined 4 female designers with 4 unique backgrounds. Their styles were very much opposed to each other but somehow complimented the whole collection. I had to admit that out of the four, I like Kate's collection the most. It was very fearless, very dark and very dangerous. Woakey collection was full of personality. Shorts, bodycon dresses, big color stripes, knitted tops, lightweight reversible jackets, hoodies, big red hoop earrings, bangles, etc. and the DJ was playing a heavy beat, strong hip-hop, and rap music. I was thrilled and definitely wanted some for my own closet.

The last collection was from a Nigeria designer, Kola. She is a friend of Tamika. No wonder they both have absolutely brilliant styles. The designer mixed a blend of American culture into her Nigeria designs. There were colorful head wraps, which made from crafted papers. The dresses were made with vibrant colors: bright pink, coral, red and blue. Many loud accessories and out there heelpieces collection. I was drawn in the open suits, loose pants, and fringes handbags with camel prints. Easy to mix and match between casual and a night out looks. As Leteisha, an upcoming designer complimented on the pieces, "I love how she brought ethnicity in the collection, very bold yet inspiring women around the world to think outside the box". I think she just summed up the whole collection theme.

I had so much fun reviewing all these beautiful and solid collections. Some of them were so well made, you wouldn't think they were from new designers. I am looking forward to collaborating with some of them in the future if there is a chance.

*View more videos and photos on my Instagram @undressing_under_the_stars

Oakland Fashion Week official Insta page @officialoaklandfashionweek

bottom of page